Site Map


International Year of Glass 2022

International Year of Glass 2022
The International Commission on Glass (ICG), the Community of Glass Associations (CGA), and ICOM-Glass are promoting 2022 as a United Nations International Year of Glass to underline its scientific, economic, and cultural roles. AACG also will be celebrating 2022 as the Year of Glass. 
AACG has put together a Year of Glass committee co-chaired by Bonnie Marx and Jan Mirenda Smith, who along with other committee members are working to formulate activities for 2022. As programming develops, look for information to be posted on this page. 
The idea to have the United Nations designate 2022 as the International Year of Glass (IYOG2022) began in 2018. Support came from 1,500 universities and research centers, societies and associations, museums, artists, educators, manufacturers, and companies in 79 countries on five continents. Delayed by the global pandemic, the formal resolution was finally accepted by the United Nations General Assembly on May 18, 2021. 
IYOG2022 will include activities across the planet, from congresses and seminars, to industrial fairs, to artistic exhibitions. Event planning will rely on grassroots input and a network of volunteers. Information will be available on the website and a LinkedIn group, International Year of Glass 2022.
Current plans include an opening conference in Geneva, Switzerland; an International Commission on Glass congress in Berlin; a glass expo in China with satellite events; plus art/history congresses in Egypt, the U.S., and Europe. Exhibitions are being planned in museums and educational materials are being prepared.