Site Map


AACG Awardees

AACG Awardees

The AACG Annual Award

Each year the AACG may select an organization to be honored for its contributions to the contemporary glass movement. This organization receives an unrestricted grant from the Alliance and is usually invited to present a public program at SOFA Chicago in conjunction with the AACG Annual Meeting. Past awardees are:

  • 2018: The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art for its Kotler-Coville Pavilion
  • 2017: The Museum of American Glass at WheatonArts
  • 2016: Pilchuck Glass School
  • 2015: Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass
  • 2014: The Knoxville Museum of Art
  • 2013: Chrysler Museum of Art
  • 2012: Toledo Museum of Art
  • 2011: deYoung Museum, Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco 
  • 2010: Museum of Arts and Design
  • 2009: Corning Museum of Glass
  • 2008: Museum of Glass, Tacoma, Washington
  • 2007: National Liberty Museum
  • 2006: Glass Program, University of Miami
  • 2005: Museum of American Glass, Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center
  • 2004: Corning Museum of Glass, Hot Glass Roadshow
  • 2003: Renwick Gallery, Smithsonian American Art Museum
  • 2002: Mint Museum of Craft + Design
  • 2001: Creative Glass Center of America, Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center
  • 2000: Glass Program, California College of the Arts and Crafts
  • 1999: The Studio, Corning Museum of Glass
  • 1998: Glass Program, University of Illinois
  • 1997: Bullseye Connection
  • 1996: Glass Art Society
  • 1995: Pilchuck Glass School
  • 1994: NY Experimental Glass Workshop
  • 1993: Toledo Museum of Art
  • 1992: Penland School of Crafts
  • 1991: Rhode Island School of Design

AACG Honors

In 2001, the AACG began a new program of recognizing individuals of outstanding accomplishment in the field of contemporary glass art. Honorees may be artists, collectors, curators, critics, teachers, authors, gallery owners and directors, and any others whose contributions have been significant and important in the field. Recipients are honored at the annual AACG membership event at SOFA Chicago. Past honorees are:


  • Carol Camiener


  • Stan Epstein
  • Henry Wasserstein


  • Laura Donefer, artist


  • Mary and Blair (posthumously) Corkran, collectors
  • E. Marie McKee, past president of the Corning Museum of Glass


  • Jutta-Annette Page, curator of glass and of decorative arts, Toledo Museum of Art


  • Bruce and Ann Bachmann (posthumously), collectors
  • Lino Tagliapietra, artist


  • David Denn, collector and chair of AACG's 50th Anniversary Committee
  • Dominick Labino (posthumous), artist


  • Dale Chihuly, artist
  • Dale and Doug Anderson, collectors 


  • Richard Jolley and Tommie Rush, artists
  • Jon Liebman, collector and retiring ContempGlass webmaster


  • Dudley and Lisa Anderson, collectors 
  • Dan Klein (posthumous), author, critic, commentator, auctioneer, gallerist
  • Adele and Leonard Leight, collectors 


  • Simona and Jerome Chazen, collectors
  • Bonnie Marx and Ken Saunders, gallerists

On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the founding of AACG, to the founders of the

  • Madeline Baer (posthumous)
  • Wally Baer (posthumous)
  • Mike Belkin
  • Irvin Borowsky (posthumous)
  • Gloria Kamm
  • Sonny Kamm
  • Elmerina Parkman
  • Paul Parkman
  • Bobbi Raphael (posthumous)|
  • Jerry Raphael (posthumous)
  • Dorothy Saxe
  • George Saxe (posthumous)
  • Hilbert Sosin (posthumous)
  • Jean Sosin (posthumous)
  • Paul Stankard
  • Laurie Wagman


  • Richard Marquis, Artist
  • Natalie and Ben Heineman, Collectors


  • Marvin Lipofsky, Artist
  • William Warmus, Critic, Curator


  • Tina Oldknow, Curator
  • Myrna and Sheldon Palley, Collectors
  • Mark Peiser, Artist


  • Ferdinand Hampson and Doug Heller (joint award), Gallerists
  • Jack Pelisek (posthumous), Collector
  • Paul Stankard, Artist


  • George and Dorothy Saxe, Collectors
  • Joel Philip Myers, Artist


  • Harvey Littleton, Artist
  • Stanislav Libenský and Jaroslava Brychtová, Artists
  • Hilbert (posthumous) and Jean Sosin, Collectors