Site Map


Visionary Scholarship Fund

Visionary Scholarship Fund

The Art Alliance for Contemporary Glass (AACG) through their Visionary Level Membership has instituted a Visionary Scholarship program directed toward individual artists who are making or seeking to make a full-time career using the medium of glass. This program was created as part of the AACG's mission to further the development of art made from glass.

AACG will be accepting requests for 2020 scholarships only to accredited 501c3 (non-profit) entities for students accepted into their program. The scholarships are chosen from nominations made by glass teaching institutions and accredited glass instructors. No applications directly from individual artists will be accepted. The amount of each scholarship awarded will be approximately $2,500.

Scholarship Applications must be submitted no later than April 15, 2020. The Visionary Scholarship program instructions and forms are available for download below.

  • To download the Scholarship Program Instructions, please click here.
  • To download the Scholarship Application (for the school only), please click here.
  • To download the Recipient Evaluation of the Scholarship Program (for scholarship recipient only) please click here.
  • To download the School Evaluation of the Scholarship Recipient/Acknowledgement (for the school only), please click here.

All forms, except for the Scholarship Applicationmust be submitted to AACG within thirty (30) days after the course ends.

For more information, e-mail the AACG Visionary Committee chair, Judith Ross, at

Click here to add an institution or program we can contact that might want to be on our list for information or to nominate someone. 

Previous Scholarship Recipients:

In 2019 AACG Visionary scholarships were awarded to the following artists, shown with the schools where they attended classes:

  • Kagen Dunn, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Shannon Floyd, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Jordan Ford, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Leckie Gassman, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Dante Germain, Penland School of Crafts
  • Jaclyn Harris, Pittsburgh Glass Center
  • Katherine Kazlauskas, Pilchuck Glass School
  • David King, WheatonArts Creative Glass Fellowship
  • Megan Lange, Pittsburgh Glass Center
  • Alex Lozano, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Mark Morris, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Aaron Pexa, WheatonArts Creative Glass Fellowship
  • Matt Rademacher, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Esteban Salazar, UrbanGlass
  • Caroyln Spears, Penland School of Craft
  • Erin Anne Steen, Temple University Tyler School of Art
  • Luke Stone, Chrysler Museum Glass Studio
  • Amanda Takacs, Corning Museum of Glass Studio
  • JiEun Yoon, Chrysler Museum Glass Studio
  • Hosek Youn, Pittsburgh Glass Center
  • Sixuan Zhu, Temple University Tyler School of Art

In 2018 AACG Visionary scholarships were awarded to the following artists, shown with the schools where they attended classes:

  • Maria Aroche, UrbanGlass
  • Andrew Clark, Salem Community College
  • Ryan Clark, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Katy Czarnecki, Haystack Mountain College of Crafts
  • Isaac Feuerman, Penland School of Crafts
  • Lucy Gillis, Tyler School of Art
  • Johnny Glass, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Jackson Haawkins, Tyler School of Art
  • Rinoi Imada, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Madison Kopsa, Corning Museum of Glass
  • Kayla Ohlmer, Corning Museum of Glass
  • Ben Orozco,  University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Michiko Sakano, UrbanGlass
  • Wil Sideman, Creative Glass Center of America
  • Tim Spurcise, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Maia Stern, Bild-Werk Glass School
  • Heather Sutherland, Pilchuck Glass School
  • Gina Sylvester, Salem Community College
  • Wes Valdez, Salem Community College

In 2017 AACG Visionary scholarships were awarded to the following artists:

  • Jennifer Crescuillo; for a fellowship at WheatonArts, Millville, NJ; nominated by the Creative Glass Center of America.
  • Joan Biddle, Mollie Hansen, and Kelsie McNair; for a glassblowing and painting on glass course; nominated by the Chrysler Museum of Art.
  • Katerine Rutecki; for a course on Scandinavian screen printing on glass; nominated by the Southern Illinois University School of Art and Design.
  • Leo Tecosky; for a course titled “Life Blows On;” nominated by UrbanGlass.
  • Gregory Wright; for a course titled “Senior Studio;” nominated by Alfred University.
  • Victoria Ahmadizadek; for a course titled “Defining Line;” nominated by Pilchuck Glass School.
  • Maria Conner; for a course titled “Materiality and Spirituality;” nominated by California State University, San Bernardino.
  • Charles Reynolds; for a course titled “Research in Glass;” nominated by the University of Texas, Arlington.
  • Audrey Wilson; for a course titled “Architectural Approaches;” nominated by Penland School of Crafts.
  • Arin Ashley; for graduate research through 12/2017; nominated by the Tyler School of Art of Temple University.
  • Katherine Rutecki; for a course at UrbanGlass; nominated by Southern Illinois University.

In 2016 AACG Visionary scholarships were awarded to the following artists:

  • Courtney Branam, for the course "Crafts, Clients & Caliphers" at Pilchuck Glass School, WA
  • Eric Hess for the MFA research in glass at the University of Texas, Arlington
  • Brian McLaughlin for a graduate class at the California School of the Arts, Oakland
  • Kit Paulson for "Experimental Glass Engraving at Corning," nominated by Southern Illinois University at Carbondale School of Art and Design.
  • Sharise Peacock for "Graduate Projects in Glass" at the Tyler School of Art/Temple University, Philadelphia
  • Nate Ricciuto for a Creative Glss Center of America fellowship at WheatonArts, Millville, NJ
  • Rebecca Szparagowski for the course "Flameworkinng for Everyone" at Penland School of Crafts, NC
  • Jade Usackas, Kimberly McKinnis, and Ali Feeney, for "Screen Printed Powder" at the Chrysler Museum of Art Glass Studio, Norfolk, VA
  • Evan Voelbel for "Graduate Class Studio IIA" at the Rhode Island School of Design, Providence, RI

In 2015 AACG Visionary scholarships were awarded to the following artists: 

  • Cheryl Patrice Derricotte, nominated by Penland School of Crafts for the program "Susan Taylor Glasgow - Glass Plus"
  • Amy Lemaire, nominated by WheatonArts and Cultural Center for the program "Creative Glass Center of America Fellowship"
  • Lisa Demagall, nominated through Pilchuck Glass School for the program "Kiva Ford: The Glass is Half Full"
  • Erin Murdock, nominated by Haystack Mountain School of Crafts for the program "Making a Good Impression" with Daniel Clayman